Your Twitter Inbox is Now out of Bounds for Strangers

Twitter

Direct Messages from strangers will not hit your Twitter inbox unless you say so. That’s right, Twitter is rolling out a feature that changes the way its DM feature works; instead of all incoming direct messages heading straight away to your private inbox, the feature flags foreign messages to a new ‘Requests’ tab first, for review.

Twitter’s DM feature is one of the loved functions of the application, but giving the whole world the power to send you messages paves a huge freeway for spams, not only from your fellow humans but also bots. Anyway, receiving Twitter direct messages from anyone is a matter of choice, you can either choose to allow messages from strangers or confine your inbox just for people you know, a policy which came to effect back in 2013 when Twitter settled for the opt-in feature scrapping off the previous policy that allowed only people following you to DM you.

Also Read  Sarahah app opens the doors to cyberbullying

Some people opted in, setting their Twitter accounts to allow direct messages from their acquaintances only, still, others chose to leave their inbox open for the entire universe – either choice is down to personal reasons, though restricting one’s inbox looked more reasonable. All the same, the idea behind this feature, on the roll, is to filter messages for those who choose to enable receipt of messages from everyone. As so, messages from known people maintain their place in the inbox while the rest of the baggage goes to the new requests section.

Once in the request section, users can review the messages at their own discretion with an option to accept or delete. All media – photos, GIFs and videos – are also not visible until you choose to accept, which is quite a blessing – you don’t just bump into anything before screening it. You won’t be able to jump into group chats either if people who have invited you are unknown to you.

Also Read  Teleshop Kenya (Safaricom Discount Shop) has an offer of 30GB data for Ksh 3K, up to 15% discount on Safaricom and Telkom airtime and other data packs

Take heed, deleting a message does not work the same way as the block feature and will not bar the individual from sending more in the future.

Twitter

Otherwise, the change has been effected on Twitter’s official apps for Android and iOS and the client’s web application, Twitter.com. The rollout has been hitting different places gradually, meaning you need to take a chill if you are not spotting the change yet, it wouldn’t take long.

This is a nifty function that will save users big time, just wondering why Twitter took ages to bring it on board. However, without much ruing, we should be glad that the feature has finally arrived and heap credit where it is due, to the entire development team that made it happen.

Drop us your thought(s)