Latest Google Photos Update Removes an Essential Battery-Saving Feature and you Probably won’t like it

Google Photos

Besides Maps, Google Photos is probably one of the most underappreciated, yet so powerful products the search engine giant has to offer.

With the growing love for photos, more so selfies, Google Photos is turning out to be the perfect app for many smartphone owners not just on Android, but also on iOS. However, the latest version of the app has removed a feature that will definitely leave many users unhappy.

Before the latest version 2.17 for Android and 2.18.0 for iOS was released just last week, users of Google Photos were able to choose when the app can back up the photos they captured while on trip with friends during the day. In the Settings>Back up & sync section, there is a “When to back up” sub-section where one can choose when to back up their photos. Previously, it was possible to pick from two toggles – Roaming and While charging only.

Well, in the new update, the search engine giant has removed the “While charging only” option. So, what does this mean, really? In short, what this means is that Google Photos is set to be a battery hog. This removed feature meant that your captured photos and videos were only backed up to the cloud when the phone was charging, but this is no more. From now henceforth, Photos will keep on backing up files even when on battery power, something that will for sure drain a huge chunk of your battery juice, especially for those who take hundreds or even thousands of photos in a period of less than a few hours.

What remains of you is simply to tell the Google Photos not to perform backups when roaming, but the toggles to back up photos and videos when using cellular data are still there. If these two are turned off, the app will only back up files when you are on Wi-Fi, which should save you some data.

What do you think about this move by Google? Let us know in your comments below.

Drop us your thought(s)